California Contractor's Disciplinary Bond

California Contractor’s Disciplinary Bond

Important things to know about CA Contractor’s Disciplinary Bonds:

  • The bond must be received by the CSLB within 90 days of the bond’s effective date. Also, the bond term will only be for 1 year, but the licensee will need to keep this bond on file for a minimum of 2 years.
  • The bond amount is based on the seriousness of the violation but will be no less than $15,000.
  • When filling out the online application below, please include personal information for all owners who hold 10% or more of the corporation
This disciplinary bond is required due to past delinquency on a license. In order to further protect the public, the CSLB will require this bond in addition to a general contractor's bond.
A contractor's license can be revoked due to a violation of Contractor's License Law. This disciplinary bond is required to reinstate or reissue the contractor's license.
The bond premium varies, depending on credit. With strong credit, the premium can be as low as 1-3% of the bond amount determined by the registrar. For non-standard credit, the premium can be 9% of that bond amount or higher.
To get a free bond quote for the Disciplinary bond, follow these steps:
1. Gather your revoked license number or your new application fee number.
2. Complete the online application below and submit. You can also download & complete the PDF application {LINK} and email to apps@southcoastsurety.com or fax to 949.361.9926.